The AusIMM honors high achievers

DR IAN Gould has been awarded the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy’s (AusIMM) highest honour, the Institute Medal for sustained service to the minerals sector.

“Gould has championed the underpinning drivers of Australia’s mining success including exploration, environmental performance and leading edge research,” the citation read.

He has held various roles in the minerals industry including AusIMM president, AJ Parker Cooperative Research Centre for Hydrometallurgy chairman, and the South Australian Resources Industry Development Board chairman.

The award was recently announced along with other 2007 AusIMM Award recipients.

Minerals and Energy Resources in South Australia executive director Paul Heithersay was awarded the President’s Award, for his role in developing the Plan for Accelerating Exploration (PACE).

The Jim Torlach Health and Safety Award was awarded to the leadership team of Kingsgate Consolidated’s Chatree gold mine in Thailand, for outstanding commitment to health and safety practices.

Sue Border and Peter Stoker were recognised for their long history of service to the AusIMM, with Institute Service Awards.

The AusIMM Awards began in 1935, and recognise outstanding achievement and service to the minerals industry and The AusIMM.

Key contact:

Michael Catchpole

The AusIMM

Send this to a friend