Rinehart wins mining award at Women in Industry event

Hancock Prospecting chair Gina Rinehart has won the Excellence in Mining award at this year’s Prime Creative Media Women in Industry Conference and Awards.

Rinehart, who was announced as the winner at a ceremony last night, is considered an inspiration for women in the mining industry, whose influence is far reaching.

Since becoming the executive chair of Hancock in 1992, Rinehart has turned the company into a mining enterprise with major projects in Western Australia and Queensland.

She has been a driving force in the industry, establishing four major mines, including the mega Roy Hill iron ore operation, which has celebrated reaching output of 30 million tonnes (Mt) and the 1000th train delivery to Port Hedland.

Meanwhile, Energy Skills Queensland chief executive officer Penelope Twemlow was the recipient of the Industry Advocacy Award and Mentor of the Year.

Twemlow, who has overcome difficulties as a woman in male-dominated industries her entire career, now integrates diversity into all organisational processes at Energy Skills and uses it as a lens for looking at, identifying, developing and advancing talent.

In addition to her role at Energy Skills, Twemlow has also worked hard to increase the number of women in male-dominated industries as founder and now chair of the Women in Power organisation.

Full list of Women in Industry Award winners:
Rising Star of the Year – Michaela Craft, Region South Pacific – energy coordinator, BOC
Social Leader of the Year – Beverly Williams, industry pathways and placement coordinator, Automotive Centre of Excellence Bendigo Kangan Institute
Business Development Manager of the Year – Shelley Hyslop, major account manager, ATOM
Safety Advocacy Award – Catherine King, Country Health, safety & environment manager, ABB Australia
Excellence in Manufacturing – Lisa Lamb, manufacturing director – products of national significance, Seqirus
Excellence in Mining – Gina Rinehart, executive chair, Hancock Prospecting
Excellence in Engineering – Philippa Craft, product manager, bulk carbon dioxide, hydrogen, helium, BOC
Excellence in Road Transport – Pam McMillan, chair, Transport Women Australia
Industry Advocacy Award – Penelope Twemlow, CEO, Energy Skills Queensland
Mentor of the Year – Penelope Twemlow, CEO, Energy Skills Queensland

Send this to a friend