Three major mining hubs form industry alliance

The towns of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia, Broken Hill, New South Wales, and Mount Isa, Queensland, have formed an alliance called the Australian Mining Cities Alliance (AMCA) to strengthen mining ties across regional Australia.

The announcement was made by the towns’ mayors (John Bowler, Darriea Turley and Joyce McCulloch, respectively) at the Sustainable Economic Growth for Regional Australia conference in Port Augusta, South Australia last week, and the alliance is due to launch by the end of the year.

Bowler, chair of the Australian Mining Cities Alliance, expressed hope that the alliance would tap into the regions’ collective mining experience in a collaborative fashion during times of industry downturn.

“It is only early days, but I feel sure that mining cities across Australia will benefit greatly from this initiative in the years ahead,” he said. “We’ll be working swiftly to finalise a work and research program so that we can start making a difference for our communities.”

Turley was also enthusiastic at the potential of the alliance; she stated that the AMCA would “prove vital in helping local governments diversify their economies, and create more vibrant societies in which families and individuals can build rewarding lives.”

Meanwhile, McCulloch said that the alliance had brought extraordinary collaboration between the three mayors — “We can only imagine what will be possible when other mining cities join us,” she said.

“Our aim is to position the alliance as a powerful educational and advocacy force.”

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.