OZ Minerals takes two SA awards

Several South Australian companies have received high commendations for their achievements, at a gala awards night held by the South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy (SACOME).

SA premier Jay Weatherill presented the awards at a gala dinner in Adelaide on Monday night, announcing four awards in three categories.

OZ Minerals took the award for Excellence in Leadership, Women in Resources, and Heathgate Resources won the top honour for Excellence in Social Inclusion.

Iluka Resources, Kalari Transport were both awarded for Excellence in Supporting Communities.

Across other categories Iron Road and Terramin won the awards for Environmental Excellence, while OZ Minerals took another award for Excellence in Supporting Communities.

Fyfe also won an award for Excellence in Leadership, Women in Resources.

SACOME chief executive Jason Kuchel congratulated the companies that received awards and special commendations.

“It is great to see our local resources companies entering these awards and in doing so, helping to create awareness of the contributions of our sector, which go well beyond the economic and employment benefits and their regulatory requirements.”

Kuchel also recognised the service John Roberts, who was SACOME president for 13 years until he stepped down in February.

“Through leadership of SACOME in this key position, together with his many other advisory roles and tireless passion for the industry, John has played a significant part in shaping our resources industry over a time which has undergone immense change,” he said.

The award night also provided the opportunity to celebrate the 35th anniversary of SACOME, which has been advocating for the SA resources industry since 1979.

SACOME president Terry Burgess said the celebration allowed the industry to come together in what was a difficult time for many of the chamber’s members.

“As individuals and companies we tend not to stand up to represent the industry, but rather we limit ourselves to our own specific areas of interest,” he said.

“We should also be proactive and set the agenda for debates rather than have others impose their own agendas onto the sector.

“Just like the Premier’s Community Awards recognise the outstanding contributions of our industry, so too should we all promote our collective successes and the critical role we play in supporting our local communities and the economy in South Australia.”

Burgess left his position as CEO of OZ Minerals last year.

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.