Mining’s night of nights

The mining industry gathered last night to celebrate the 7th Annual Australian Mining Prospect Awards.

The awards, which celebrated innovation and excellence, saw a record turnout for the event which recognised those adding to the industry.

Hosted by Vince Sorrenti and with NSW Minerals Council chief executive Dr. Nikki Williams giving a rousing speech on the current state of the resources industry and its future, the night saw a number of winners across twelve categories ranging from Excellence in Environmental Management, and Outstanding Contribution to Mining, through to the prestigious Mine of the Year award.

Speaking to Australian Mining, attendees said “it’s great how it really brings so many people together from across mining,” and that “these awards are really highlighting what an amazing industry we work in.”

Running across twelve categories, a full list of the winners and those highly commended is below.

Excellence in Environmental Management

Highly Commended – SRA Information Technology for the Real Time Dust Monitoring Website
Winner – Pluton Resources for Irvine Island

Innovative Mining Solutions

Highly Commended – Rambor for the AFC Mounted Longwall Face Drill
Winner – J. Smith & Sons for the Smith Mk4 Hydrapede Dolly

Explorer of the Year

Highly Commended – Brockman Resources for the Marallina Project

Winner – Sandfire Resources for the Doolgunna Project

Minerals Processing Plant of the Year

Highly Commended – Alcoa of Australia for the Pinjarra Refinery

Winner – Xstrata Coal for the Bulga CHPP

Excellence in Mine OH&S

Highly Commended – Interlink Management Systems and Xstrata Coal for the XCN Coal Mining

Winner – Optalert for the Optalert Fatigue Monitoring Technology

Mine Manager of the Year

Highly Commended – Brian Kilgariff from OZ Minerals

Winner – Bill Knight from Alcoa of Australia

Employer of Choice

Highly Commended – OZ Minerals’ Prominent Hill

Winner – Rio Tinto Coal’s Hail Creek

Contract Miner of the Year

Winner – Australian Shaft Drilling for the Kestrel Mine Expansion

Coal Mining of the Year

Highly Commended – Rio Tinto Coal for Hail Creek

Winner – GHD and Xstrata Coal

Outstanding Contribution to Mining

Highly Commended – Dr John Read, CSIRO

Winner – Bob Cameron, Centennial Coal

Metalliferous Mine of the Year

Highly Commended – OZ Minerals’ Prominent Hill

Winner – Rio Tinto’s Northparkes Mines

Mine of the Year

Winner –  Rio Tinto’s Northparkes Mine

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.