Mining moves: MMG appoints new CEO, and more

Australian Mining brings readers the latest corporate appointments and departures in the local and international mining industry.

MMG has appointed Jerry Jiao as the new CEO following the resignation of Andrew Michelmore.

“After eight years at the helm of MMG, Andrew hands over a business in very good health. He has set the platform for future growth and continued success and has established a culture with safety at its core,” Jiao said.

“He has been an inspirational and tireless leader who has shepherded the company from its beginnings as Minerals and Metals Group in 2009, public listing as Minmetals Resources Limited, rebranding as MMG and the successful acquisitions of Kinsevere and most recently, Las Bambas.”

Jiao has worked as a director on MMG’s board since the company formed in 2009, later becoming chairman in 2014. He most recently worked as vice president of Minmetals, responsible for Minmetals International mining assets and China Minmetals Non-Ferrous Holdings.

Jiao welcomed the new appointment and will relocate to Melbourne with his family.

Michelmore will continue with the company until July 1 2017.

Guo Wenquing has been appointed as the new director and chairman of MMG. The company has also appointed Zhang Shuqiang as another new director to the board.


Tony Walsh has been appointed as joint company secretary of Battery Minerals. He is also currently company secretary of Atlas Iron, Legend Mining and S2 Resources. Walsh has more than 30 years’ experience with ASX, ASIC and corporate transactions.

Walsh is a member of the Australian Institute of company directors, a fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia, the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Institute of Chartered accountants. Has has been appointed general manager, special projects, providing corporate, investor relations and corporate compliance assistance for the company. Steve Wood will continue as joint company secretary.


Dr Noel White has resigned as chairman and director of Cudeco, following the resignation of Dianmen Chen. Peter Hutchison will be appointed as the company’s interim chairman.


Geoff Jones resigned as a non-executive member of Energy Metals due to other commitments.

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.