Macmahon continues board reshuffle

Macmahon Holdings has made further updates to its board composition, appointing two new directors and transitioning the position of its chief executive officer.

Effective October 1, the company’s chief executive officer Michael Finnegan will join Macmahon’s board as managing director.

This coincides with the appointment of two non-executive directors, Bruce Munro and Hamish Tyrwhitt to Macmahon’s board.

The announcements follow news of two directors, including the company’s chairman Jim Walker, resigning from Macmahon in late June this year.

Macmahon chair Eva Skira commented on the recent appointments, saying both Munro and Tyrwhitt are “unique, highly experienced and sophisticated veterans of the industry.”

“Their executive experience managing large organisations with operations in Australia and Asia… will be very useful to Macmahon as we pursue our long-term strategy to grow into an industry leading company,” she said.

“We continue to invest in people, innovation, and technology initiatives, and our ability to attract directors of high calibre such as Bruce and Hamish speaks to the current strength of our business and its future prospects.”

Also commenting on Finnegan’s new role, Skira said she was looking forward to working alongside the new managing director, who has been with Macmahon since 2014.

“Mick and his executive team have overseen a significant turnaround in Macmahon’s performance, and I am now very pleased to be able to welcome him to the board,” Skira said.

Macmahon said via a media statement that it was also considering the appointment of an additional independent director and will make a separate announcement regarding this in due course.

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.