Follow the leaders: This week’s executive appointments

executive movements

Keep up with the latest executive movements across the mining sector, including at Newmont Corporation, DEVELOP and CSIRO.

Newmont has two new additions to its board of directors, with Emma FitzGerald and Mary Laschinger to join on December 1, 2021. 

FitzGerald is the former chief executive officer of Puma Energy International and a leader in delivering energy solutions around the world. 

Laschinger is the former chief executive officer of Veritiv, a Fortune 500 business-to-business distribution solutions company.  

“We are thrilled to welcome these two experienced and distinguished directors to Newmont,”  Newmont board of directors chair Gregory Boyce said. 

“Their outstanding senior management experience, comprehensive knowledge of complex global operations and deep understanding of governance and oversight make them excellent additions to our board.” 

“Newmont’s board of directors brings a broad range of backgrounds, experiences and talents, along with ethnic and gender diversity, to our governance process,” Newmont president and chief executive officer Tom Palmer said. 


The CSIRO has welcomed Rob Hough as its new director of mineral resources, as Australia’s lead science agency recognised the importance of the mining sector into the future.

Hough will begin in the role immediately, moving from his current role in the agency’s mineral resources business unit.

CSIRO executive director for Environment, Energy and Resources Peter Mayfield said Hough was a sure thing to lead some important developments.

“Australia’s mining and resources sector remains a pivotal part of Australia’s economy and future prosperity,” Mayfield said.

“Rob’s proven leadership and strong stakeholder engagement record both at the national and international level will ensure CSIRO continues to build on our legacy of delivering relevant and impactful research to support our resources sector globally.”

Hough’s experience extends to the Federal Government where he held executive level positions in the delivery of the Modern Manufacturing Taskforce for Resource Technology and Critical Metals.


Exploration and development company, DEVELOP, has added Michelle Woolhouse to its team of premium mining specialists as a non-executive director, effective December 1, 2021. 

Woolhouse has spent 25 years in financial markets, specialising in the natural resources sector, and has established an extensive skillset in risk and financial analysis and managed a substantial portfolio of resources companies across a range of commodities. 

She has significant experience in project and corporate finance in the mining and metals sector, including evaluation, debt structuring, technical considerations and sustainability. 

DEVELOP managing director Bill Beament said Woolhouse’s significant experience in funding resources projects, mining companies and the mining services sector would be invaluable to the company as it pursued its multi-pronged growth strategy. 

“Michelle will play a central role in helping DEVELOP assess acquisition and investment opportunities,” he said. 

“Her experience at the highest levels in debt markets will also be critical as we look to grow our asset base and mining services division while minimising shareholder dilution.”     


Boom Logistics has welcomed Melanie Allibon to its board as independent, non-executive chair, effective November 27, 2021 

Allibon will succeed Max Findlay as he advised his intention to retire and step down from the board. 

Allibon has an extensive background in human resources and operating risk primarily in the manufacturing, fast-moving consumer goods, mining and industrial services sectors.  

She has held non-executive director positions with the Australian Mines and Metals Association and Melbourne Water Corporation.  

“I am delighted to be passing the baton to Melanie Allibon who has already made a substantial contribution to the board,” Boom Logistics chair Max Findlay said. 

“She has the capability to build on Boom Logistics’ success and her appointment will allow for an orderly transition of responsibilities.” 

Non-executive director Terence Hebiton will also retire from the board, effective November 26, 2021. 

Damian Banks and James Scott will be appointed as independent non-executive directors, effective November 29, 2021. 

Banks has extensive experience in the financial services, health and employment sectors.  

Scott is a seasoned professional with over 26 years of experience in the media, telecommunications and technology sector with industry and advisory businesses at a local and international level. 

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.