Austmine 2017 winners: ‘Collaboration key to moving mining industry forward’

RCT's Bob Muirhead: Champion of Innovation

Champions of the mining industry from across the globe were paid their dues at the biennial Austmine awards, held in Perth.

This year’s finalists attended the Austmine 2017: Mining’s Innovation Imperative conference last month, which threw some of mining’s world leaders in innovation into the limelight.

CSA Global were presented with the prestigious Craig Senger Excellence in Export award, which managing director Jeff Elliott was on hand to collect.

Core Resources took home the prize for Mining Equipment, Technology and Services (METS) Innovation, which technical director Peter Rohner accepted.

In other categories, Rio Tinto’s manager for mining innovation and analytics delivery, Ben Rogers, accepted the Miners Innovation award on behalf of the team.

CSA Global’s Jeff Elliott

To cap off the evening, RCT founder Bob Muirhead – whose career began as an electrical fitting apprentice at the Great Boulder Mines on the Golden Mile – was also named Champion of Innovation following an illustrious career in the mining industry, which has spanned several decades.

Speaking with Australian Mining, Austmine CEO Christine Gibbs Stewart explained why it is important for the industry to recognise some of mining’s emerging and shining stars.  

“The important thing is that members of the mining community, whoever they may be, are open to talking to each other,” Stewart said.

“As passionate people in our industry, Austmine enables them to discuss strategic issues and to focus on improving innovation in mining.

“That collaboration is key if we are going to move the industry forward. We need to explore new partnerships and to break down some of those cultural barriers.”

Finalists and winners included:

Craig Senger Excellence in Export Award (sponsored by Austrade)

Metallurgical Systems

CSA Global (winner)
Gekko Systems

Austmine METS Innovation Award (sponsored by Department of Industry, Innovation and Science)

Core Resources (winner)
PETRA Data Science
Metallurgical Systems

Austmine Miners Innovation Award (sponsored by Total Oil Australia)

Rio Tinto – RTVis (winner)
New Hope Group – ABAS
New Hope Group – GRT
RUC Cementation

Champion of Innovation

Bob Johnson, Maptek
Sandy Gray, Gekko Systems
Ian Hedley, Hedweld
Bob Muirhead, RCT (winner)
Peter Rossdeutscher, Innovation Cluster
John Russell, Russell Mineral Equipment

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.