Michelmore back at MCA

The Minerals Council of Australia has appointed Andrew Michelmore as its new chair, replacing Helen Coonan, who will step down at the end of the year.

It’s a return to the job for Michelmore, who previously served as MCA chair from 2013 to 2016. He has more than 35 years’ experience in senior leadership roles in Australia and overseas in the metals and mining industry, including as executive director of MMG Ltd, and chief executive officer of Zinifex and OZ Minerals.

MCA chief executive Tania Constable said during Coonan’s tenure, Australian mining had delivered record levels of export and government revenue, took significant steps on sustainable mining, committed to a reduction of emissions and an ambition of net zero by 2050, and confirmed the industry’s commitment to a culture and workplaces that are free from sexual harassment.

“Coonan also helped steer the MCA and the Australian minerals industry through the COVID pandemic,” she said.

“Australian mining continued to operate and contribute to the economy and Australia, delivering strong jobs growth across our regional communities, while keeping workers, families and communities safe.”

The MCA Board also invited two new members: Geraldine Slattery, president, Minerals Australia, BHP and Mia Gous, regional vice president Australia, Newmont.

Both will start in January 2023 and replace Edgar Basto (BHP) and Alex Bates (Newmont).

Editor of industrial titles and mastheads with Prime Creative Media. Publications include Rail Express and Australian Mining (web content).
Send this to a friend