Australian Mining Cities Alliance launched

The Australian Mining Cities Alliance (AMCA), a coalition between the mining towns of Broken Hill, Mount Isa and Kalgoorlie-Boulder, has been formally launched today in Canberra by Australian Resources Minister Matt Canavan.

The Liberal politician, along with the three towns’ respective mayors, Darriea Turley, Joyce McCulloch and John Bowler, who together announced the plan in Port Augusta in October, attended the launch.

The alliance is designed as a way for mining towns across the country to strengthen their ties and tap into each others’ collective mining expertise. It is hoped that the AMCA will grow with new members over time.

“We assess that there are at least 50 mining cities across Australia,” said Kalgoorlie-Boulder Mayor and alliance chairman Bowler, “and we will invite them to join the Alliance to build our network and deepen our collective expertise.”

“The Alliance will prove vital in helping local governments diversify their economies, and create more vibrant societies in which families and individuals can build rewarding lives,” said Broken Hill Mayor Turley.

Send this to a friend