And the winner is… Mining

More than 300 people turned out for the tenth annual Australian Mining Prospect Awards on Thursday night.

Held at The Ivy in Sydney, the evening opened with New South Wales Minerals Council chief executive Stephen Galilee explaining to attendees that miners need to do more to tell the stories of the industry.

“Mining is an industry of extremes, from heartbreak to success,” he said.

Galilee said NSW has a long and proud mining history.

“It’s an industry that’s helped build the state from the ground up,” he said.

He explained that mining companies directly spend about $12.8 billion annually on wages, goods and services in NSW, with $6.3 billion spent in the Hunter Valley region alone.

But as Galilee discussed the importance of recognising miners' good work, the awards spent the night recognising miners' hard work and excellence.

The Australian Mining Awards recognise both companies and individuals within the sector who have excelled over the past 12 months.

From a pool of 71 finalists, the judges said it was a difficult job awarding last night’s winners.

The winners for 2013 are:

Excellence in Mine Safety, OH&S

Enware, for its Safety Shower

Excellence in Environmental Management

NCIG & DuPont for its Newcastle Port Dust Management System

Innovative Mining Solution

The Azimuth Aligner from Downhole Surveys

Minerals Processing of the Year

Anglo American's Moranbah North’s CHPP

Community Interaction

Open 4 U Miner’s Breakfast

Explorer of the Year

Sheffield Resources Limited for its Dampier Heavy Mineral Sands Project

Contract Miner of the Year

Abergeldie Complex Infrastructure for its Ulan West mine ventilation shaft

Peoples’ Choice

Laura Hayman from Coffey International

Manager of the Year

Mike Stone from Energy Resources Australia

Young Achiever of the Year

Michael Trusler from

Mining’s Woman of the Year

Liz Watts from GlencoreXstrata

Contribution to Mining

Phil Enderby from GlencoreXstrata

Coal Mine of the Year

Anglo American's Moranbah North coal mine

Hard Rock Mine of the Year

Sandfire Resources' DeGrussa mine

Australian Mine of the Year

GlencoreXstrata's Mangoola coal mine


Congratulations to all the finalists and winners!

Send this to a friend