Miners recognised in Australia Day awards

A number of people have been recognised for their contribution to mining and the resources industry in the 2016 Australia Day Awards.

Mitch Hooke – AM in the general division (Member of the Order)

Mitch Hooke was the most recognisable name in mining awarded honours yesterday. He received the award for his “significant service to business, particularly to the mining and minerals sector, to policy development, research and trade opportunities, and to the indigenous community”.

Hooke was previously the head of the Minerals Council of Australia, and now leads the Queensland Resources Council.

He played a major role in the axing of the Resources Super Profits Tax and the reduction of the Mineral Resources Rent Tax.

Anthony Grey – AM in the general division (Member of the Order)

Anthony Grey was awarded the honours for “significant service to the community as a supporter of medical research and the arts, and to the mining industry”.
He has made a name for himself in the rare earth industry, and has served on a number of resources company and industry boards. He has served as the chairman of the World Nuclear Association, as a director of the World Gold Council and with the International Nuclear Law Association. He is also the author of ‘Jabiluka: The battle to mine Australia’s uranium”.

Ronald Fritschy – AM in the general division (Member of the Order)

Ronald Fritschy was recognised for significant service to higher education governance and administration in Queensland, and to the mining and resources sectors.

Fritschy has been involved in four major plant commissions, and spent a number of years in Zurich carrying out diagnostic and design work for alumina plants.

He was formerly an managing director of Cape Alumina, and serves as chancellor of CQ University.

He is a fellow of the Institute of Engineers Australia.

Steve de Kruijff – OAM in the general division (Medal of the Order)

Steve de Kruijff was recognised for his services to the mining industry and the community. The former chief operating officer for Mt Isa Mines and North Queensland Copper (Xstrata), de Kruijff has been a major support of charity and community programs.

Through his leadership Mt Isa Mines has donated significant funds to social and local community programs, doubling the capacity of Townsville’s Ronald McDonald House, donating $2 million to the Royal Flying Doctor Service, donating $2 million towards a new dental health clinic at the Mount Isa Hospital, and $2.75 million towards the Cloncurry community precinct.

He was also previously a Mine Manager of the Year award winner at the Australian Mining Prospect Awards, as well as a recipient of the 2008 AusIMM Jim Torlach Health and Safety award.

He is currently a director of AusIMM.

Sandra Johnson – OAM in the general division (Medal of the Order)

Sandra Johnson has been recognised for her services to the mining industry, particularly in the Northern Territory. She has been the director of Capricorn Mapping and Mining Titles Services, is on the committee and is a life member of the Extractive Industry Association in the Northern Territory, and has also been involved in the establishment of a swathe of Indigenous Land Use agreements.

Brian Stooke – OAM in the general division (Medal of the Order)

Brian Stooke was recognised for his services to industrial relations, to the resources industry, and to the advancement of women. Stooke has more than 35 years of industry experience, and contributed to the Fair Work Bill 2008 and Work Choices, and negotiated a number of industrial agreements in the resources and heavy industry sectors.

To keep up to date with Australian Mining, subscribe to our free email newsletters delivered straight to your inbox. Click here.