Thank you, you are now logged in. x

Limited tickets for awards dinner

comments Read Later

LIMITED free tickets are available for the 4th Annual Australian Mining Prospect Awards presentation dinner on Tuesday evening 4 September 2007 at Waterview Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park, Olympic Park in Sydney.

A return shuttle bus will be available from the Novotel at Sydney Olympic Park to the venue.

The Australian Mining Prospect Awards has been encouraging, recognising and rewarding excellence in the Australian mining industry for five years, and with the current and unprecedented level of mining activity, this year’s awards is shaping up to be the biggest yet.

Finalists for this year’s awards are as follows:

Coal Mine of the Year

  • Illawarra Coal for Appin Coal Mine
  • Centennial Coal for Awaba Colliery
  • Centennial Coal for Myuna Colliery
  • Springvale Coal Pty Ltd for Springvale Colliery
  • Centennial Coal for Tahmoor Colliery
  • Xstrata Coal for Beltana Coal Mine
Contract Miner of the Year

  • Avko Mining
  • Bilfinger Berger Services
  • HWE Mining
  • Downer EDI Mining
  • Swick Mining

Metalliferous Mine of the Year

  • HWE Mining for Callie Undergournd mine
  • Kalgoorlie Consoidated Gold Mine (KCGM) Super Pit
  • Newcrest Mining for Ridgeway Gold Mine
  • Perseverance for Stawell Gold Mine
*Argyle Diamond Mine will be presented with a new award in the Prospect Awards: Mining Employer of Choice.

Minerals Processing Plant of the Year

  • Bemax Resources Limited for Pooncarrie Project
  • Groote Eylandt for Manganese Processing Plant Upgrade
  • Rio Tinto Iron Ore for Hismelt
  • Intec Zinc for Hellyer
  • Alcoa for Kwinana Refinery

Excellence in Mine OH&S

  • Alcoa for ‘Wheel Spinner’
  • Alcoa for ‘Tyre Deflation Muffler’
  • Cement Australia for Cornwal Rescue Team
  • Leighton Contractors’ Mining Division
  • Centennial Coal for ‘Hydraulic Advancing Temporary Support System’
  • Swick Mining
  • Wallis Drilling
Community Partnership of the Year

  • Alcan for Cross Cultural Awareness Program
  • Alcoa
  • Ensham
  • McArthur River Mining
  • Oxiana

Excellence in Environmental Management

  • Alcan
  • Cement Australia for Parkhurst Mine Lease
  • Donaldson Australasia
  • Jo Jo Plastics & Ruggies Recycling
  • Centennial Coal for Springvale Colliery
  • MWH - Rio Tinto Iron Ore
  • Worth Recycling

Innovative Mining Solution

  • Alcan
  • Burkert for Dust Supression
  • Burkert for Integra
  • Global Tracking Solutions
  • Centennial Coal for HATS
  • JS Melbourne Controls
  • Optalert
  • Runge
  • Centennial Coal for Springvale

Explorer of the Year

  • Alkane Resources
  • Alliance resources
  • Atlas Iron
  • Avoka Resources
  • Castlemaine Gold Limited
  • Trafford Resources

Finalists for the Outstanding Contribution to Australian Mining include: Jeff Whittle, Jim Boland, Mike Eager, Pat Stephenson and Paul Gottlieb.

The judging panel includes: Colin Donegan, Dr Brian White, John McIntyre and Gregory Bondar.

To RSVP contact Reed Business Information event co-ordinator Ashley Buncher on 02 9422 2944, or 0421 667 509, or email: [email protected]


Australian Mining on Twitter